Beet Soup Redo

A few weeks ago we were set the task to come up with our own soup and salad recipes using set ingredients. With the internet and my cook books I came up with a couple of plates that I was proud of, but made mistakes with the soup that needed to be fixed. Not wanting to leave it though I decided this weekend to redo the recipe and fix my errors.

To start, the soup I previously made had to have beets, parsnips and apples in the recipe. There were other additional items I could add to the mixture but those three were set. After a few hours of cooking the vegetables and simmering it all in liquid, I had then pureed the mixture and set it up for presentation. The first thing I noticed is when I added cream to make a spiral it did not enter the liquid, more of sat on top. Quickly I washed out my bowl, tried again using a squeeze bottle to actually make a dug in spiral. When Chef (I have multiple chefs so it is not the same one every time I say chef) checked my soup he said it was too thick, and together we decided it had the consistency of apple sauce.

Well today I decided to fix that mistake.


BPASoup


Once again I roasted up my vegetables. A combination of onion, apple, parsnip and beets. As I let it simmer for the required half hour I began to carefully dice up pieces of apple into small squares which I then soaked in lemon juice so it wouldn’t brown right away. From there I tossed the apple cubes into a hot frying pan, adding pinches of sugar and cinnamon to sweeten it up and make it soft. When done I moved it to the fridge to cool down as I continued on with my soup.

Now one thing I forgot is that we don’t have an immersion blender, or even a blender. So I attempted to use a masher, then a mixer. Afterwards I sifted it through a sieve and ended up with a beautiful bowl of thickened wine coloured soup.

During the cooking process I had added a bit of sugar. I didn’t want it to be sweet like a dessert, but not as bland as how I found my previous attempt. The flavour I believe came out with a distinct beet taste but with a tang of sweetness. Additionally, when spoonfuls of the soup had a piece of apple it had a nice tart combination.

What I find interesting about this soup is the lack of herbs. During the task we only had a few herbs offered and many of the recipes I found called for ones we didn’t have, so the dish actually completely relies on the flavours of the vegetables and sugar.

To plate my soup I simply piled the cinnamon cubed apples in the centre, then spiraled the cream around starting from the outside. It is quite easy, and if I was to have something like this for a future restaurant I would probably have the server spiral the cream around once they served the customer, this way the cream wouldn’t wobble in the bowl and make a mess. While with the apples I would also have them already prepared and with each soup order I would have them just quickly tossed in a frying pan to warm up.

Leave a Reply

