Fevers and Food

Well this week went a little better than the last. I went to the clinic Monday for my sciatica and got some lovely pills that made the pain go away, but while there I suspect I caught something because during my Thursday morning class I was in agony. So after a painful two hour trip home I got into bed and had my high fever taken care of by my husband and mother. I am still feeling pretty bad but my fever has gone down and I wanted to tell you all that I did this week!

So I’ll first begin with yesterday’s class since it is more fresh in my mind. We were required to make carbonnade flamande with venison, rabbit with mustard, and bison short ribs.

The rabbit needed to be deboned, the venison shoulder cut into one-inch chunks, and the bison short ribs cleaned up and cut individually. As I worked on the prep for the carbonnade and mustard, my partner took apart the rabbit and cleaned up the bison ribs. After we finished we ended up switching recipes. I continued on to make the rabbit while she started the ribs.

By then I was feeling pretty ill and didn’t notice she had finished searing the bison quickly and vac packed them for the immersion cooker. It was quite interesting since our chef told us they would be in there for 20 hours and had some from the class on Wednesday for us to try.

After some help from chef I browned the rabbit, added the additional ingredients of herbs, wine, and chicken stock, and began to let it braise as I continued on to the vegetable cooking for the meal.

A few of the things we needed were kale, sunchoke, and carrots. The kale was easy enough and was to be cooked like spinach, while the sunchoke we boiled like a potato and mashed it with butter and cream. I’ve never tried sunchoke before but it was actually pretty good, the flavouring was similar to a potato with a hint of turnip.

After those were ready the rabbit had reduced enough to be moved to take-out containers and all we needed to wait for was the carbonnade. It had only been an hour since we had put it in the oven so we ended up tidying up and taking a small break.

By then I was feeling worse and had to refuse the different recipes we had just made, but everyone said the food was tasty. There was comments that the rabbit tasted like chicken and that the venison was hard to describe.

In the end everything looked great. We sent down a container each of kale, mashed sunchoke and carrots, with carbonnade to be sold in the pantry.


MousseCake


 Wednesday was baking and I actually did really well. Baking has never been my strongest subject so to follow the instructions of a pastry chef has really helped improve my work. This week we made blueberry mousse cake, chocolate mouse cakes, and chocolate roses.

For the blueberry cake our chef wanted to show us a simple egg free version because so many people have egg allergies these days which meant we would be using gelatin as a stabilizer.

To start we cut out a circle that was slightly smaller than the pan we had with the chocolate cake we had made a few weeks prior. And then using a ruler cut out lines from stripped cake to place around the edge as you can see in the picture above. Once everyone at the table was ready we then moved on to making the mousse. It wasn’t too difficult since we used a mixer to whip the cream, melted sugar with puree and gelatin, then folding the mixture into the cream to keep it fluffy. Afterwards we divided it up and filled the cake rings until it reached just below the stripped cake top.

From there we moved everything into the blast freezer and began to cut circles out of the mango gelee they made the week before. As I was not there last week my friend let me use some of hers. By the time we cut circles and tidied up we were able to grab the now frozen cake and move to the next step. With the gelee circle we placed it in the centre of the cake and then added the rest of the mousse and again put it in the blast freezer. I love that thing. Whoosh, frozen.

The next step was to melt what was left of the gelee and begin the next mousse cake. Again we did an egg free mousse but instead of needing gelatin, the chocolate itself would be the firming agents as the mixture would cool. Once we finished folding the chocolate into the cream we divided it up into two piping bags with no tips. Using round silicon moulds we filled most of it with mousse then the centre with caramel. On top we added a small chocolate cake circle and also added it to the blast freezer. From there we grabbed our blueberry mousse cakes and added a layer of the melted gelee to give it a decorative top plus it also helped protect the mousse from drying out.

By now chef was moving us on over to making chocolate roses. If you were finished with your cake she suggested you should started trying to warm up you pieces so they were moldable. I’ve never felt anything like it food wise. The chocolate didn’t feel normal since it was so hard, and when becoming pliable in your hand it didn’t melt. It was also entertaining as chef gave us a demo on how to make the roses and all the students were needing chocolate in their hands as they watched.

The instructions she gave looked simple enough and seemed to just require patience. First we were to make a teardrop from a marble sized piece, and then continue with petals by smoothing the chocolate on the counter until it was petal shape and begin wrapping it around the top.


ChocolateRose


As I worked on mine I was happier and happier with it. I personally think it came out lovely and still have it in my fridge. As for the chocolate mousse cakes, while working on the roses we also needed to take time to come up front and put on a chocolate glaze chef had made. Some of the things she was looking for in marking our products was that the cake came out round and smooth, meaning we had properly piped it into the mould.

Well mine came out beautifully and after I added the glaze they looked quite delicious. I was so happy that we got to keep half of them while the others were going down to the pantry to also be sold.


ChocMousse


(The one on the right isn’t a bite mark, I accidentally booped it as I was trying to put the other one in my take home box. There was three in total plus half the cake I made.)

I must admit I really enjoyed the class. Chef said my cake was beautiful, her only comment was that the top layer of gelee was a little thick, but other than that everything went great. Also I really clicked with the modeling chocolate, it seemed most of the class had a hard time putting together their rose. I wouldn’t mind trying it again with other shapes and maybe trying to perfect the rose making.

By the way, if you’re ever in the Whitby area you should check out our pantry. Parking is free if you’re a customer and tell the cashier from what I understand and the food we offer is pretty cheap for what we’re actually making. The other week we were selling two frenched lamb racks for $14.00 while I found just one for sale at Metro for $23.00.

Leave a Reply

